Image Gallery Now Loading… Previous Next Close

Initial D (English Dubbed) (US Version) DVD Region 1

Jay Chou (Actor) | Edison Chen (Actor) | Huang Hai | Lai Yiu Fai
This product is out of print and no longer available from the publisher
This item belongs to:
Important information about purchasing this product:
  • This product is accepted for return under certain conditions. For more details, please refer to our return policy.
  • Price and availability are valid only for your shipping destination, and may vary. Please confirm your shipping destination here.
  • This product will not be shipped to Hong Kong.
Initial D (English Dubbed) (US Version)

Customer Review of "Initial D (English Dubbed) (US Version) "

Average Customer Rating for All Editions of this Product: Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7.4 out of 10 (56)

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 6
Hajime Mashite
See all my reviews


February 17, 2010

This customer review refers to Initial D
Zzz... Customer Review Rated Bad 4 - 4 out of 10
I agree with the former reviewer. This film was boring. The racing scenes were good and quite realistic, but too much time went to waste, nothing special was happening, everyone just seemed to wait for something, though for what, I can`t say, because the dialogue had so many holes in it, it was really hard to figure out what the characters were really thinking. I don`t like Jay Chou, he wears the same expressionless face through every movie I`ve ever seen him in and as this film was mostly about him...nah. I`m not a fan of Anthony Wong either, but he did a good job here and I felt he was well suited for this film. Edison Chen just seemed bored...I was really excited about this movie but I ended up fast-forwarding through it...even through some of the race parts...that`s just no good!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)

See all my reviews


March 29, 2008

This customer review refers to Initial D
1 people found this review helpful

A REAL SHOCKER Customer Review Rated Bad 1 - 1 out of 10
The viewing left me in no doubt that this one of of the worst HK films in recent times. Yes the car races were exciting to watch, but does this constitute as making the film great? What of the drab acting from most of the cast (not all), story, and lack of realism and the rest. To read some of the reviews stating that this was a Great movie left me flabbergasted. I love my HK films and a lot of the actors in the film but this was something else. What of having the entire film in Cantonese with no reference to the Japanese language (in Japan) in everyday life, yeh right!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
T.T.L T-ara
See all my reviews


September 9, 2007

This customer review refers to Initial D (2005) (DVD) (Hong Kong Version)
1 people found this review helpful

Drifts past fast & furious.... Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10
Initial D has a good cast with Jay Chou, Anthony Wong, Edison Chen and Shawn Yue. As it was a anime it had to impress, and the storyline did. A enjoyable racing movie and it focuses on one type of racing: Drifting! Its not a typical movie like fast and furious where it has cops & guns. This movie got on with its racing and shows what drifting is about. A sequel would be good if it had the same cast.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Tammy
See all my reviews


February 10, 2007

This customer review refers to Initial D (US Version)
2 people found this review helpful

For girls and guys interests Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9 out of 10
What I liked most about this movie was that it was interesting, even for a girly girl like me. I am not into guy stuff at all and didn't think I would like this movie very much until my sister told me how good it was. Also, because I am in love with Jay Chou, I decided to watch it. It turns out that I actually liked it very much. There is love for the girls and street racing for the guys. So, this movie is perfect for a couple to watch together where one doesn't get bored and leave.

The song "Drifting" was a very good song. Even though I don't understand it, I like it very much because of the beat and of course Jay Chou sings it. This movie is very worth buying and rewatching. I'd watch it again. ^^
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
British Racing Green
See all my reviews


February 7, 2007

This customer review refers to Initial D
1 people found this review helpful

Cool! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
If you are into street racing, then this movie is worth watching. It isn't as colourful and slick as the Fast & Furious movies, but it wasn't meant to be. Intial D captures the feel of street racing culture in one part of Japan (Gunma). The car scenes are top notch and the characters are not too bad. Some might say it is rather odd that they put Chinese actors speaking Chinese in what is a movie based on a Japanese cartoon. But why didn't a Japanese company come and make the movie instead of one from Hong Kong? It isn't that odd when you consider people in HK grew up watching Japanese cartoons all dubbed into Chinese. The story is somewhat different from the original cartoons, but then again, what works in one medium doesn't for another. Enjoy it and the soundtrack isn't bad either...
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Rhoda
See all my reviews


January 3, 2007

This customer review refers to Initial D (2005) (DVD) (Hong Kong Version)
1 people found this review helpful

Not much!!! Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10
The car driving is ok but there is really very little to expect in this movie. The car stunts are quite interesting although sometimes its quite hard to believe the lead actor driving real fast but is driving real cool. Anyways, suggest you borrow this movie if your not a car-addict fan.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Maximillian
See all my reviews


November 5, 2006

This customer review refers to Initial D (US Version)
1 people found this review helpful

Sorely lacking Customer Review Rated Bad 3 - 3 out of 10
It's not really hard to figure out where this film went wrong. A great supporting role from Anthony Wong is cancelled out by a sillier-than-usual performance from Chapman To. What was supposed to be "romantic" relationship between Jay Chou and An Suzuki is rendered totally unbelievable due to a complete lack of chemistry between the 2 leads. Finally, as the central character, Jay Chou was the lynchpin to the whole film, but it falls apart due to his absolutely comatose performance. This is not Jay Chou "acting" like he doesn't care, this is Jay Chou not acting.

Let's face it, it was next to impossible to follow up the Infernal Affairs trilogy with anything quite as good. Initial D suffers from too much style and precious little substance.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Rhoda
See all my reviews


October 25, 2006

This customer review refers to Initial D (US Version)
Good driving Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10
WELL, I DID NOT REALY EXPECT A GOOD STORY IN RACE MOVIES. I LIKE THE DRIVING STUNTS THOUGH, DIFFERENT FROM TOKYO DRIFT.. AND THE HOLLYWOOD MOVIE. NICE TO WATCH
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Ling
See all my reviews


June 24, 2006

This customer review refers to Initial D (2005) (DVD) (Hong Kong Version)
Good Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10
I don't care what others say, I think Jay Chou portrays Takumi excellently... They're both expressionless and don't seem to care much about anything... But I didn't like how it seemed like the whole first stage was crammed into a short movie... They should've just made one really exciting race or something instead of trying to explain too much thats unecessary to the film... But a very good effort... It's better than I though anyway...
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
quyenieee
See all my reviews


June 3, 2006

This customer review refers to Initial D (US Version)
mhmm.. Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10
this is late.. lol. anyways, i thought the racing was interesting, the casting was amazing, the direction it was leading.. was ehh.. the movie was in a slow pace and it got uninteresting after like half an hour. although there were so funny parts involving chapman to, i think that saved the movie from being a total burnout. as much as i love jay chou, his acting is very unpersuasive and it seems he has only one emotion on his face throughout the whole movie. i wouldn't really recommend this movie unless you're a fan of the cast.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 6
  • Region & Language: No Region Selected - English
  • *Reference Currency: No Reference Currency
 Change Preferences 
Please enable cookies in your browser to experience all the features of our site, including the ability to make a purchase.