Image Gallery Now Loading… Previous Next Close

Peppermint Candy (US Version) DVD Region 1

This product is out of print and no longer available from the publisher
This item belongs to:
Important information about purchasing this product:
  • This product is accepted for return under certain conditions. For more details, please refer to our return policy.
Peppermint Candy (US Version)

Customer Review of "Peppermint Candy (US Version)"

Average Customer Rating for this Edition: Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7.3 out of 10 (3)
Average Customer Rating for All Editions of this Product: Customer Review Rated Bad 8 - 8.2 out of 10 (9)

Page: 1
simon
See all my reviews


March 17, 2011

This customer review refers to Peppermint Candy (DVD) (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Korea Version)
3 people found this review helpful

Response to Lloyd Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I know, my reply is a few years late but I cannot believe Lloyd's stupidity. Peppermint Candy is undoubtedly one of the best Korean films ever made, In my opinion it is the greatest Korean film ever made and my Favorite film of all time. My major is Korean and History and I have to concur with Bill's reply to Lloyd's totally clueless review. Please, Lloyd, do yourself a favor, in future if you don't want to look like a complete numskull I suggest you don't review films that you don't understand. Silly man. Your stupidity surpasses you.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Bill
See all my reviews


November 1, 2005

3 people found this review helpful

Billliant Allegory of Korean History in the Eighti Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
Lloyd clearly has no idea what he's talking about. the film is allegory of Korean history in the eighties starting with a man who leaves university and a burgeoning relationship with a young fellow college student and his psychological decline, starting from his unwitting killing of a Kwangju student in 1980 during the massacre after Chun Doo-hwan's coup d'etat. the film then, in reverse, travels through his psychological disintegration and eventual suicide beginning with his work as a police detective and reflecting the brutal interrogation techniques used by the police against pro-democracy youth during the eighties. This may seem implausible to our "reviewer" Lloyd, but he would do better reading up on recent Korean history, because the film depicts facts, not fantasies.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Lloyd
See all my reviews


August 29, 2005

3 people found this review helpful

Deeply disappointed, lacking substance, flow, and Customer Review Rated Bad 2 - 2 out of 10
Upon reading the summary and the previous reviews, I looked forward to seeing this film. Unforunately, I found myself deeply disappointed upon the film's conclusion. The film isn't absolutely horrible, the acting is impressive, and the cinematography is well done, but this is by no means a great movie.

The story is told backwards, from the ending to the beginning, and attempts to recapture the past 20 years of a man's life. However, the pacing is ackward, and the film is full of plot holes which leave many unanswered questions. The film feels as if it wants the audience to believe that the characters and the storyline are profound and deep, when they both fall on borderline ridiculous.

Our "protagonist" is almost anything but. By the end (beginning) of the film he finds himself with nothing to live for, but his predicament is the fruit of his own labor. In the 20 year time span that covers his life, not once could I sympathize, or even pity our immoral hero, for his hardships and griefs are the results of his own volition. There are plenty of movies where we witness the metamorphosis of the central character from good to evil, and vice versa. This film however, has a hero which is unlikeable from beginning to end.

The lead actor displays a great portrayal of a someone suffering from bipolar disorder, but the situations he finds himself in are extremely unbelievable, to the point they are almost laughable. His actions, no matter how wrong, never warrant any type of punishment, whether from himself or society. I kept telling myself that this film is just one giant dream sequence, because the story is not the least bit plausible.

I really wanted to like this movie, but I felt nothing but contempt for the protagonist as the movie dragged on. Combined with the nonsensical world and circumstances, and the film's slow and ackward pacing, I would give this movie 2 stars at best, but have decided on 1 to level off the ratings for this film; it is by no means a 5 star movie.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

July 15, 2005

2 people found this review helpful

Seol Kyung Gu's greating act Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
This is pretty early movie of Seol kyung gu. Actually people know him to see in 'Public enemy, But,I saw him first time in this movie'Peppermint candy'. what a surprise...great acting to play the role of small person in the big world...The Storyline of movie was pretty impressived..it made me remind of my past and think my identity seriouly. This movie mainly talk about that Everybody think of the past and want to go back there once they face the irresistible things. Anyway, Good movie with English subtitle, I am just waiting for it's release! Soooon~
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

February 1, 2004

This customer review refers to Peppermint Candy
2 people found this review helpful

See this movie!! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I strongly recommend this powerful and dark movie. The acting is great.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

February 1, 2004

This customer review refers to Peppermint Candy
See this movie!! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I strongly recommend this powerful and dark movie. The acting is great.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

December 14, 2002

This customer review refers to Peppermint Candy
Moving Story Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9 out of 10
Well done. Disturbingly real. An amzing portrait of a deeply distressed human being. It may be difficult for those who have not been in life situations like his (the main character), but the evolving story line rings truth to those who have realized how hard life can be. I think the title "Peppermint Candy" can be easily substituted with the frequently cited phrase in the movie, "Life is Beautiful," which the current title actually stands for in my opinion. For many people just like the main character, the question "Is life really beautiful?" is something they consistantly ask themselves and find it hard to believe.

The movie stays true to life and defends the medium as an art form. It's not one of those Hollywood movies (or most other Korean movies for that matter) for cheap thrills for the views and quick bucks for the producers. It's one of those that would enrich and make us appreciate the meaning of life.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Jerome
See all my reviews


April 4, 2002

This customer review refers to Peppermint Candy
1 people found this review helpful

Absolutely beautiful but... Customer Review Rated Bad 6 - 6 out of 10
This movie is definitly one of the best of the year. Strong, beautiful, dark, sad, made by Kim Yeo Jin with a remarquable intelligence of the human be. The principal actor is fantastic, he can play so many variation for the same character, it's amazing! But why, tell me ******g why!!! the DVD is in 4/3 pan&scan. How can you do that! It's a shame...
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Jerry
See all my reviews


March 14, 2002

This customer review refers to Peppermint Candy
1 people found this review helpful

Peppermint What??????????? Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10
The title has very little to do with the movie. It was hard to follow with all the bouncing backwards, but, the ending worth your wait. This could be a great movie and I just didn't get it.... Not a family movie with nudity, but, not that bad to watch with a loved one with a bottle of red wine and of course some peppermint candies.....
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Page: 1
  • Region & Language: Hong Kong United States - English
  • *Reference Currency: No Reference Currency
 Change Preferences 
Please enable cookies in your browser to experience all the features of our site, including the ability to make a purchase.