Image Gallery Now Loading… Previous Next Close

Singles (DVD) (US version) DVD Region 1

Our Price: US$13.99
List: US$24.99 Save: US$11.00 (44%) Availability: Usually ships within 1 to 2 days
Important information about purchasing this product:
  • This product is accepted for return under certain conditions. For more details, please refer to our return policy.
Singles (DVD) (US version)

Customer Review of "Singles (DVD) (US version)"

Average Customer Rating for this Edition: Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10 (2)
Average Customer Rating for All Editions of this Product: Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7.9 out of 10 (15)

Page: 1 2
Kevin Kennedy
See all my reviews


September 6, 2007

1 people found this review helpful

Glossy trash Customer Review Rated Bad 5 - 5 out of 10
"Singles" collects all of the foolishness, loose morals, and bad advice of contemporary urban middle class life, wraps them in a shiny bow, and offers them as light entertainment. Traditional concepts of dating, courtship, and marriage are cast aside and replaced with an "if it feels good, do it" ethic.

The director of "Singles" described it as "a growing up film." I couldn't disagree more. The films' two female leads from start to finish are driven by their momentary whims. They show no growth whatsoever. Their giddy optimism at film's end is foolishly misplaced.

Jang Jin Young and Uhm Jung Hwa provide very nice eye candy and there are some engaging and funny individual scenes in "Singles". But at its dishonest heart, this movie is selling a self-destructive lifestyle. I cannot recommend it.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Rhoda
See all my reviews


September 1, 2006

This customer review refers to Singles
Not my type Customer Review Rated Bad 5 - 5 out of 10
Indeed, there is a story but this is not actually taste. I bought this film because i wanted to see Hyuk after i've seen him in Lovers in Praguq, unfortunately this is not a exciting film. Pacing slow... must have sleep while watching.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

July 18, 2005

it's cool~ Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9 out of 10
This movie is pretty cool...actor/actress, storyline, producing....especially movie touched me with story.
29 yr old women's life and their concern between career and Love..Diector's cool editing and great casting...Impressived by Um jung Wha(one of main actress)'s sense of acting.I think this movie is pretty much Modernistic. It is Cool~
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Peter
See all my reviews


July 6, 2004

This customer review refers to Singles
1 people found this review helpful

It's cute, but why the deletion? Customer Review Rated Bad 8 - 8 out of 10
Haved seen this movie reviewed on many Korean TV Entertainment shows, I decided to get it. I found it rather odd that Uhm Jung Hwa's whipped cream (yogurt) scene was left on the cutting room floor. The two reviews showed it part of the movie. You can still see it, but it's an extra on the 2nd DVD. At least you get the great Music Video by Loveholic -- also on the 2nd DVD.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

May 13, 2004

This customer review refers to Singles
Don't miss it Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9 out of 10
This is one of the excellent film that I have seen. This film is full of energy, especially the energy of 29. All Four artist has a great performance, especially Chang Jin Young. She can totally illustrate the characteristic of a modern lady life style ==> individual and optimestic, but lack of confident to love.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

January 10, 2004

This customer review refers to Singles
Singles Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10
Yeah the ending is kind of sad for obvious reasons, but this is a pretty good movie worth seeing. The characters are amusing, even if at times it feels like the film is a bunch of random events mashed together. Still, check it out.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

January 8, 2004

This customer review refers to Singles
Life as it is Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
This movie holds everything that is true in life and what is not. What is sad, laughable, likeable, sorrowful, thankful, weak, terrible, and everything in between and extremes. If you're in your late twenties and realizing that life is as hard as it gets, better watch this movie as it looks into what life has to offer as an alternative. You might view it differently at your own angle but these people aren't rich not in poverty. They can either take both sides of the coin and they'd end up doing the same thing over and over. That's how being human is. I now realized what I have been doing wrong all these years. It had me thinking that what have I been doing. I can't have a career that I've always wanted so why focus on that and become a loser. Do what you do good at. Do what you like. It may or it may not come, but life is life, spend it the way its supposed t obe spent. Being a single mother is the new thing. Its a case to case basis for everyone, and not everybody can handle it. This is a good thing. Showing that we are all equals.
I like this movie topnotch, its mellowdramatic, nor it is a total comedy. It's like life happening right now, and just so happens that they shot a set of people that were in the right direction all along, that went sideways.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

December 31, 2003

This customer review refers to Singles
Oh my god!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
This is one of the best korean movies I've seen to date(and i have seen lots). The storyline deals with love, marriage, careers, friends, and all the embarrassing moments and little compromises made when you think the clock is ticking. I say this movie is a MUST SEE, especially if you are asian and unmarried. This movie isn't your sappy korean melodrama with a hollywood ending. It is very honest and genuine (and genuinely funny).
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

December 29, 2003

This customer review refers to Singles
Japanese Drama Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I recently saw "Singles" and enjoyed it but realized the plot is the same plot as a Japanese Drama, "29 Year Old Christmas" starring Yamaguchi Tomoko.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

December 18, 2003

This customer review refers to Singles
not excited Customer Review Rated Bad 5 - 5 out of 10
the ending was terrible. what was that? so was that guy rich or poor. and it sends the wrong message to people out there that having kids without the father is alright. i just didn't like the ending. otherwise, the rest of the movie was watchable.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Page: 1 2
  • Region & Language: Hong Kong United States - English
  • *Reference Currency: No Reference Currency
 Change Preferences 
Please enable cookies in your browser to experience all the features of our site, including the ability to make a purchase.