By using our website, you accept and agree with our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.  
Image Gallery Now Loading… Previous Next Close

affection (Japan Version)

Our Price: US$29.75
Availability: Usually ships within 7 days
Important information about purchasing this product:
  • This CD is copyright-protected. The tracks on the CD can be played on PC running Windows operation system, but cannot be copied onto any PC nor can they be played on Macintosh operation system.
  • This product is accepted for return under certain conditions. For more details, please refer to our return policy.
  • YesAsia.com is an official sales data provider to the music sales charts reported by Oricon Inc. Only sales of Japan Version CD, DVD, and Blu-ray music products shipped to Japan are reflected in the Oricon music charts. (see details)
affection (Japan Version)

Customer Review of "affection (Japan Version)"

Average Customer Rating for this Edition: Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9.7 out of 10 (13)

Page: 1 2
Jae
See all my reviews


December 27, 2012

2 people found this review helpful

This is what it all came down to! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
All Koda Kumi fans should have a copy of this album sitting on their shelves. THIS album is stunning and houses her most famous ballad ever performed: walk. That song she performs to close every concert? The one filled with so much passion, it touches your heart and always makes beautiful Koda Kumi cry? That one.

The album is R&B, the genre that Koda Kumi doesn't use very much anymore, but that she is best at.

"atomic energy" starts the album off with a futuristic feel and is a short intro that sets the tone. "Trust Your Love" follows going to "Go Together," a song that's catchy and has a wonderful tone. It's the first song that her vocal skills start to shine through. Next is "Your Song," originally on "TAKE BACK." "feel me" is techno R&B. How cool does that sound? Not half as cool as the song sounds. Its chorus is addicting and smooth.

"COLOR OF SOUL" is next, followed by "Best Friend Of Mine." The song is acapella and shows Kuu's skills. Her voice is overlaid several times and while it's not one of my favourites, the amount of skill it takes to do a song like this for one person makes me appreciate it. Next is my FAVOURITE track from the album, "My Dream!" The song is upbeat, heavy and intense! From the intro to the finale. This is the best song on the album! "Looking for my dream!" "So Into You," which is no longer on the shelves, follows with a heavy bass and interesting tune. The PV for this is what sold me on the song because Kuu looks stunning and the video has a lot of aspects.

"Till Morning Comes" features rapper VERBAL and is Kuu's first collaboration. So many people forget about that! The beginning starts off very slow, but by the time VERBAL begins his part, you're hooked to the song. It's as though their voices were made to blend with each other. "come back," one of her most intense ballads, is next and really does house her talent. It's right up there with "walk." It's sad, it's heart-breaking and if you don't have chill bumps, you have no soul. "TAKE BACK" follows and afterwards is "Can't Lose," which is another bass heavy and smooth sounding track. This an "My Dream" are some of my favourite songs. It's one of those songs that if you only heard once, you're humming it years from that point and trying to remember what song it was.

The album closes with "walk," her most famous ballad. You will cry. Get ready with tissues because the tears will come.

If you're a fan, get this album! If not, perfect place to start!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Whitney
See all my reviews


July 20, 2012

4 people found this review helpful

Interesting Album. Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
Like most people, I discovered Koda during her "Ero Kawaii" image and therefore listened to most of her lastest albums. But when I finally decided to listen to her past works--partically this one--I nearly fell out of my chair! (Literally!) I was so surprised that there was once a time when she wasn't the sex icon she is today! Her music back then seemed so...bland. I was so used to her urban pop and R&B music that this album came as a complete shock to me.
The album itself is completely average. Just simple tunes going through my ears over and over again. Nothing special. But surprisely, I found myself more drawn to this album than any of her latest works combined. The tunes are simple I'll admit, but they strangely have this vibe that makes you wanna listen to them over and over again. Tracks like "Go Together" "So Into You" "Color of Soul" "Can't Lose" "Tack Back" and "Walk" really bring out the uniqueness of this album. I think any fan of Koda Kumi's should definately give this album a shot. You might be surprised if you feel the same way I do.
I always thought--before reviewing this album--that I'd like her latest songs better than her old-school tracks. But since purchasing this album, I realize a lot has change. I mean, don't get me wrong, I still love Koda Kumi and the way she is now---but I just might like her old school style a little bit better.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Andrea
See all my reviews


July 27, 2010

affection Customer Review Rated Bad 8 - 8 out of 10
first album for Kuu, you should buy it if you are a fan of her!
TAKE BACK, Till Morning Comes and Trust Your Love (and walk) are the best songs in this CD!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Troll0439
See all my reviews


October 10, 2007

2 people found this review helpful

Best artist debut of the year Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
Kumi Koda was terrific when releasing this.....i have been there ever since her debut..but nothing has ever
been as good as this. She started off wonderfully, but soon went downhill imagewise. Shes not the same anymore and will never be again. I love listening to this..it reminds me of when i heard it for the first time so many years ago..she was one of my favorite artists then. Buy this and you really have bought something worthwhile. Her vocals are astonishing on this release. so young..but so amazingly talented at the time.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

January 10, 2004

cool! Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9 out of 10
Koda Kumi is Great, she my favourite out there along with crystal kay, utada hikaru, ayumi hamasaki and amuro namie in suite chic
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

December 25, 2003

whoooo.... Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I'm beginning to love Kumi now, she's really great, her voice is just amazing. Her comparison to Namie is not so much alike. Though their range in voice is about the same, just as mature as one another. Can't really say if Kumi is better than Ayu. Each have a different voice, with one's voice is mature and other is cute. People have different taste in these type of things. Yet, I'll say Kumi can sing slightly better than Chihiro. Chihiro's music takes a little while to get used to, but for Kumi's, I dig in right away. So with ease. There's not a lot of Japanese singers I like. The only Japanese singers I like is Ayu, Namie, Hikki, Chihiro, and now Kumi. Only 5 singers, heheh....
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

October 18, 2003

Jump Off Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
This Cd rocks.It kicks a$$ I love it one of the best Jpop cds I seen in a while.Besides Namie better than Ayumi if you ask me.Take Back,So Into You,Til Morning Comes and Trust your love are the best songs on there.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

July 2, 2003

2 people found this review helpful

Beautiful as ever ! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I have this CD for a year now and I'm still listen to it every day, well when I'm not listening to Grow into one. Koda Kumi is my favourit artist of all time and I'm so sick of it how she's always contrasted to Namie Amuro...
Kumi has a much better, more powerfull and more controll about her voice. And I don't even see one similiar thing between her and Namie....I can't hear it any longer....
Well, this album is very good :
1. Atomic Energy - a nice trance intro (3/5 points)
2. Trust your love - also good , more R&B than Pop but cool (4/5 points)
3. Go together i- so so so cool, not the fastest but no ballad at all (5/5 points)
4. Your song - great R&B ballad (5/5 points)
5. Feel me - very techno and R&B (3/5 points)
6. Color of Soul - so muck Koda-Style and that means very good (5/5 points)
7. Best friend of mine - not really a song but the chorus makes it special (3/5 points)
8. My dream - fast and very cool I love this song (5/5 points)
9. So into you - cool song and more R&B I guess (4/5 points)
10. Till Morning Comes - definetly cool and nice listening...mix between techno & R&B (4/5 points)
11. come back - best ballad (even better than 1000 no Kotoba) (5/5 points)
12. Take Back - great and good chosen as debut single (5/5 points)
13. Can't lose - very poweful and Koda-style (5/5 points)
14. walk - nice prologe (but not a song...so 3/5 points)
15+16 Take Back / Trust your love - I love the english versions of this songs very much sounds cool, hp and it's very fast (5/5 points)

All in all, I can't see any weaks in this album, although all songs have Koda style they're so different from eachother, that the cd won't become boreing !!! SO buy it ! It's not only for Koda-Fans, but for all J-Pop fans with a good taste in music.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

June 23, 2003

Cool album ^^ Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I loved this album ^^ it contains alot of nice songs such as "Go Together", "Color of Soul", "Can't Lose" and more!

Kumi Koda have a powerful voice and it's great for upbeat songs ^^ although she handles ballads very well too ^_^

1. Atomic Energy: nice intro
2. Trust Your Love: one of my fave song on this album--a 5/5
3. Go Together: very catchy song *lol* - 5/5
4. Your Song: a slower song but still nce - 4/5
5. Feel Me: An R&B song now ^^ Ilike the chorus - 4/5
6. Color of Soul: Cool song! *sugoi* - 5/5
7. Best Friend of Mine: not really song--more like an insert ^^ - 3/5
8. My Dream: This is a cool song too ^_^ - 4/5
9. So Into You: Such a cool song ^^ stuck inmy head again ^^;; - 5/5
10. Till Morning Comes: this song featured a rap--maybe it's just coz I dun like rap much -_- - 3.7/5
11. Come Back: Nothing much to say beside nice song - 4/5
12. Take Back: The intro music is pretty cool ^^ - 5/5
13. Can't Lose: 5/5
14. Walk: 4/5

I recommend this album by Kumi as well as her other works ^_^
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Anonymous

March 26, 2003

Excellent! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
this Album is worth buying if you like R&B! although she might not be very popular but you should still check it out! also she does kind of have Amuro Namie's voice like many people said but i love her voice! plus her music! songs like Your Song, Come Back, Till Morning Comes...are worth listening but all of the songs are fantastic! so just listen to all of them!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Page: 1 2
  • Region & Language: No Region Selected - English
  • *Reference Currency: No Reference Currency
 Change Preferences 
Please enable cookies in your browser to experience all the features of our site, including the ability to make a purchase.