By using our website, you accept and agree with our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.  
Image Gallery Now Loading… Previous Next Close

Promise / Star (SINGLE+DVD)(Japan Version) DVD Region 2

This product is out of print and no longer available from the publisher
Important information about purchasing this product:
  • This product is accepted for return under certain conditions. For more details, please refer to our return policy.
  • YesAsia.com is an official sales data provider to the music sales charts reported by Oricon Inc. Only sales of Japan Version CD, DVD, and Blu-ray music products shipped to Japan are reflected in the Oricon music charts. (see details)
Promise / Star (SINGLE+DVD)(Japan Version)

Customer Review of "Promise / Star (SINGLE+DVD)(Japan Version)"

Average Customer Rating for this Edition: Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9.9 out of 10 (7)
Average Customer Rating for All Editions of this Product: Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9.5 out of 10 (11)

Page: 1 2
Jae
See all my reviews


March 29, 2013

2 people found this review helpful

Light vs. Dark Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
When this single came out, I loved it. I loved every aspect of it. The varying themes for each song in the booklet, the differences in music and style in the songs and even the cute 90 second video clip of "Star."

"Promise" is a beautiful power ballad that had me in tears the first time I had ever heard it. This is where you can really tell how she had started maturing in sound. She was growing comfortable with her voice and learning to control it more. The video is simple and stunning. Kuu is a bride at an empty alter in full gown, showing up and walking down the aisle, imagining her lover at the end. The song talks about the "promise" he had made to marry her, but how, with his death, left her abandoned. If the song with her passionate vocals didn't make you cry, the video will. Koda Kumi looks stunning and the flashback scenes are adorable and what give it an even more powerful message.

"Star" is a fast-paced pop song and always sounded really strange coming after that passionate ballad. It's a cute song with a fun beat and, even if you don't think you like it, I can promise that it will get stuck in your head constantly. (laughs) The PV is the "short version," which I guess they had intended to do a full version for the album, but never did. Either that or they just wanted to experiment by giving this growing artist a shot at a double A-side. (laughs)

This is definitely a 5/5 single. If you haven't been into Koda Kumi that long, then check out "Promise," at least. That song really doesn't get the attention it deserves.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Yuri
See all my reviews


October 21, 2006

This customer review refers to Promise / Star (CD+DVD) (Overseas Version)
2 people found this review helpful

one slow one fast Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9 out of 10
i love both promise and star. promise is nice and slow. star is fast and fun to dance to. two great songs on one disc. very worth to collecting of koda kumi's singles and cds. and plus she looks great on the cover.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
David
See all my reviews


December 21, 2005

This customer review refers to Promise / Star (Japan Version)
wonderful!!!! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
This single is so good! The Video of Promise was sad it almost made me cry.Once again Koda Kumi Has made another Great song!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
David
See all my reviews


September 21, 2005

GREAT!! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
This single is great i just bought it and can;t wait to get it I heard the song and they were great. I am Sure the video is great too.Great job Ku!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
chak
See all my reviews


September 15, 2005

Wow Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I'm not a big fan of ballad style music, but after watching and listening to Promise, I have to say wow. The song is very pretty and Koda looks so beautiful in the video. Star is a good song too. If you're a Koda Kumi fan then you should definately get this CD!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
David
See all my reviews


September 10, 2005

This customer review refers to Promise / Star (Japan Version)
THE BEST Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I think that Kodas new single is the best and once again she shocks everyone with her beautiful vocals great job koda! this is a must to buy!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
goaway
See all my reviews


September 10, 2005

Pretty good Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9 out of 10
This single lived up to my expectations, especially "Promise". It's a touching song and Kumi sings it beautifully, and it's one of my favorite slow songs of hers to date. "Star" is okay, I like how she put both a slow and a fast song on the single. She looks beautiful like always, I hope these songs are on the best album.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
anonomous
See all my reviews


September 6, 2005

Revamped for the '05 season Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I agree with the other two reviewers. It's as though Kumi picked up the real Emotion / 1000 Words single from grow into one and redid them for iminant release of her greatest hits album. If you seriously listen, Star and Promise sound like alternate versions of real Emotion and 1000 Words. Just picture Star being FFX-2's theme song instead of real Emotion, I wouldn't mind at all. 2005 has been a good year for Koda Kumi and perhaps this single, the BEST album, and perhaps another single, will finish off the year in high style for her.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Kim
See all my reviews


September 5, 2005

Finally! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
Thankyou! Hopefully this is the start of Kumi going back to her Grow into one days. I'm hoping she's finally realised her sexy image is boring. I've found all her recent singles, and her album Secret grew old very fast. Promise is a beautiful ballad...I loved this song immediatley from hearing it. Star is the song though that I love, it's the style of Kumi's grow into one days that in my opinion sounds A LOT better than her most current styles. This is definatley the single to buy. If she sticks to this I will happily keep supporting her, GREAT SINGLE KUMI!
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Yuna
See all my reviews


September 3, 2005

This customer review refers to Promise / Star (Japan Version)
1 people found this review helpful

Promise=Great/Star=Sucky Customer Review Rated Bad 7 - 7 out of 10
I think Promise is Ku's best song yet. It's so sweet, and I think her voice is perfect for these songs. Star, however, is not much of a song. It's a fast, kind of weird song with really not much of an appeal.
The picture of Ku on the Promise is soooo pretty too, she looks so classy, but the Star cover is so..slutty. I hope she keeps making good music like Promise.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Page: 1 2
  • Region & Language: No Region Selected - English
  • *Reference Currency: No Reference Currency
 Change Preferences 
Please enable cookies in your browser to experience all the features of our site, including the ability to make a purchase.