By using our website, you accept and agree with our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.  
Image Gallery Now Loading… Previous Next Close

Dae Jang Geum Compact Selection (DVD) (Box VI) (Japan Version) DVD Region 2

Our Price: US$55.75
Availability: Usually ships within 7 to 14 days
Important information about purchasing this product:
  • This product cannot be cancelled or returned after the order has been placed. For more details, please refer to our return policy.
  • This product will not be shipped to Hong Kong.
Temporary Image Dae Jang Geum aka :  Jewel in the Palace vol.1

Customer Review of "Dae Jang Geum Compact Selection (DVD) (Box VI) (Japan Version)"

Average Customer Rating for All Editions of this Product: Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9.6 out of 10 (84)

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9
Gary
See all my reviews


July 11, 2014

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum (End) (DVD) (English Subtitled) (MBC TV Drama) (Singapore Version)
Another Poor Singapore Version Customer Review Rated Bad 4 - 4 out of 10
Most of the reviewers are commenting on the US version by YA Entertainment that unfortunately is no longer available. I do have both the US and also the Singapore version by Poh Kim. The Singapore version leaves much to be desired. The picture quality is compressed from the 18 D5 discs in the bright, clear US version, to either 14 D5 or 7 D9 discs in the Singapore versions, resulting in a picture lacking in definition. Worse, Poh Kim have decided to chop certain scenes entirely from their version, leaving the viewer wondering why the sudden and unexplained cut from one scene to another. Why couldn't they have left it alone? Money and cheap-ass Singapore production considerations I guess. (See my review of Poh Kim's edition of 9 Times Time Travel DVD). I would advise to avoid Poh Kim, but there is not much alternative now that we can't obtain the US DJG editions anymore, so it is better than nothing. Even in it's butchered Singapore version, this is a superb, unique drama that must be seen.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Scott
See all my reviews


May 2, 2011

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum aka : Jewel in the Palace Volume 1 (MBC TV Series) (US Version)
1 people found this review helpful

Fantastic, Loved this K-Drama Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
A true story with beautiful scenery, historical accuracy, and great acting. It is absolutely engrossing! It is a fascinating story which has been wonderfully adapted for television and is beautifully acted and filmed. This young woman's life story weaves through the palace intrigues of the Chosun dynasty in Korea, which for most Americans is totally unfamiliar territory. However, on a personal level, any modern person will identify with the problems Jang Geum encounters fighting a corrupt administration. In addition, the Korean philosophy of life which underlies individual's choices and the events in the story makes the story unpredictable to most Americans and Western civilizations.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Mel
See all my reviews


July 11, 2010

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum (AKA : Jewel in the Palace) :The Complete Series (DVD) (MBC TV Drama) (US Version)
FANTASTIC MOVIE, FABULOUS CAST! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I fell in love with the series when it was being aired in my country. I looked everywhere for the dvd and just recently bought it from YA. The story is as wonderful as ever, the best korean drama of all time, and the quality of the us version is just marvelous.. The picture is bright and the english sub is very good.. I look forward of enjoying this dvd for many years to come..
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Herminio
See all my reviews


June 29, 2010

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum aka : Jewel in the Palace Volume 1 (MBC TV Series) (US Version)
GREAT SERIES Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
THIS SERIES IS NOW WATCHING IN TV CHANNEL 6(GOVERNMENT AND CULTURAL CHANNEL) IN PUERTO RICO AND DUBBED IN SPANISH(EXCELENT DUBBED VERSION) AND THE STORY IS VERY INTERESTING. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. IS THE FOURTH DRAMA KOREAN TO BROADCAST IN PUERTO RICO IN THE SAME CHANNEL.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Michelle
See all my reviews


February 13, 2010

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum aka : Jewel in the Palace Volume 1 (MBC TV Series) (US Version)
My first favorite Drama Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I don't usually like dramas but this one I got addicted too and fast. I love this show! Jang Geum serves as a role model for all girls who struggle in the process of achieving goals. Her strength, perseverance, loyalty, Compassion and integrity should be things we all should strive for against the Lady Chois in our lives. We should all be like Jang Geum and I definitley recommend this show.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Why be normal
See all my reviews


September 23, 2008

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum aka: Jewel in the Palace Volume 3 (End) (MBC TV Series) (US Version)
2 people found this review helpful

English subtitles Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
Enough has been said about DJG, so here are my thoughts that may or may not have been mentioned previously:

- The quality of the English subtitles (US Version) is excellent, although there were some glitches such as a missing “a”, or “the” in some sentences. But what impressed me the most was their use of certain English slang or colloquial expressions. It’s risky enough to use such words if you’re not a native English speaker and haven’t lived in the States, but when used, it was used by the right person, in the right situation, and in the right context. An example was the use of the word “man” by one of the male characters (as in “Man, I just can’t believe this…”). Also a situation where Duk-gu’s wife just figured out why he had been getting so “lovey-dovey” with her lately, and also “getting frisky”…the effect of these expressions was just hilarious and it matched their comical personalities.

- Although Lady Choi was the person we all loved to hate, the actress who played her (Kyeon Mi-Ri) really played the part…just pure evil. But when you see her in real life (she has her own website), she seems to be the sweetest woman you’d love to have as a friend and/or wife. Also in the cast reunion special on TV, she was the funniest of them all. But then, I wouldn’t mess around with anyone who’s like Lady Choi’s character, real or imitated.

- (SPOILER ALERT…Don’t read this if you don’t want to know the fate of Young-Ro): I thought the most spine-chilling moment was the very last we see of Yourng-Ro: Going into hiding, walking down the trail, then water dripping from above, she looks behind, you hear a scream from far away, and then her facial expression…and then it cuts to another scene. Whatever happened immediately after is solely up to your imagination (Head got chopped off? Thrown off a cliff…?) Man, I could hardly sleep that night after watching that scene.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Best Review
Aryf
See all my reviews


July 8, 2007

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum aka : Jewel in the Palace Volume 1 (MBC TV Series) (US Version)
1 people found this review helpful

Epic Perfection! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
Yet another kudos for this truly amazing, epic series. The storyline is full of important events that will determine the course of the characters' lives; plot twists and surprises. Although the director humbly, in typical Korean self-effacing fashion said he'd make a better drama next time, there are few (and only very minor) things, if any, that could improve this. Great attention to detail in sets, cinematography and such. The acting makes it easy to forget that there is actually a camera rolling behind the scenes and the highly acclaimed music is a great blend of traditional and modern. The chemistry between Lee Young-Ae and Ji Jin-Hee positively shines and the rest of the cast is great, too. Strong comic relief from Im Hyeon-Sik. Viewing this journey is an experience that will stay with you long after the final scene.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Kirin Patrick
See all my reviews


June 28, 2007

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum aka : Jewel in the Palace Volume 1 (MBC TV Series) (US Version)
1 people found this review helpful

Everything else was Perfect Customer Review Rated Bad 9 - 9 out of 10
I absolutely love this series but it would have been perfect if they chose another actress to play the part of Dae Jang Geum. Young-Ae Lee's acting in this series was beyond horrible. She would have been perfect if she just played the part right. She was one of the initial reasons for my purchasing the DAE JANG GEUM series but her performance was such a failure on many levels. She was great in many of her earlier tv series and films but this performance of hers is by far her worst. But enough rambling on about that. I give this series a high 9 for everything else that was great about it. I have to say that I've become a huge fan of Hong Li-Na's. Her performance as Keum-Young was graceful and just perfect. I absolutely adored the numerous other characters in this series and they include Lady Choi, Lady Han, the younger kitchen ladies and adorable child actresses earlier in the series. Not just the characters but the setting of this series is just amazing, with all the great colors. And the food is one of the best things about it as well.:-) I would definitely recommend this series to everyone. Enjoy!:-):-)
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Michael Daniels
See all my reviews


June 18, 2007

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum aka: Jewel in the Palace Volume 3 (End) (MBC TV Series) (US Version)
2 people found this review helpful

Awesome!!!!!!!! Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
My wife and I just finished watching all 3 volumes and I'm really at a loss for words. I have watched quite a few Korean dramas in the past 30 years, but Dae Jang Geum is absolutely the best I have seen. It explored the full range of my emotions from joy to anger to sadness to hope. One of the best series in any language I have ever seen. The english subtitles were by far the most accurate I have seen in their translation and conveying what was going on in a particular scene. You don't have to be Korean to fall in love with this series.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Dees_Grl
See all my reviews


May 17, 2007

This customer review refers to Dae Jang Geum aka : Jewel in the Palace Volume 1 (MBC TV Series) (US Version)
1 people found this review helpful

So Good Customer Review Rated Bad 10 - 10 out of 10
I don't usually say this but this was definitely one of the best K-dramas that I've ever seen. It keeps you glued to the tv from beginning to end. There isn't a dull moment in this series and I literally mean it. They give you moments to catch your breath but you're still always on the edge of your seat waiting to see what happens next. Wonderfully written and beautifully executed by the cast. Definitely worth every penny of it and you definitely want to have this in your collection. The only thing I don't recommend about this is don't buy just one series at a time because you will be greatly disappointed when you finish the first volume and you don't have the next one to watch right away.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (Report This)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9
  • Region & Language: Hong Kong United States - English
  • *Reference Currency: No Reference Currency
 Change Preferences 
Please enable cookies in your browser to experience all the features of our site, including the ability to make a purchase.