By using our website, you accept and agree with our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.  
RSS Feed
YumCha! » Editor Picks
Super Junior Vol. 9 - Time_Slip (Group Cover)
Super Junior
Super Junior Vol. 9 - Time_Slip (Group Cover)
The last man standing!
October 25, 2019 Picked By Violet See all this editor's picks
The wait is finally over – Super Junior is back! Ten years ago, who would have thought that a decade would pass in the blink of an eye? Celebrating their military discharge and 14th anniversary, Super Junior spawns a wave of "newtro" sounds in their ninth full-length album Time_Slip!

It's been a while since Super Junior came back with a fun, quirky and upbeat new song. The uptempo pop dance plug SUPER Clap (Track 2) cheers people up by asking them to throw their worries away and have fun: "Let's shake the world and wake it up. Let your body dance to the rhythm. Together, SUPER Clap. Follow me, SUPER Clap. Everyone, SUPER Clap." Produced by Sebastian Thott, whose song credits includes Tae Yeon's Stay and SF9's "Enough," SUPER Clap totally recalls memories of the group's Mr. Simple era, which was also a song that encouraged us to be carefree!

If you've watched SJ Returns 3, you'd know that their pre-release singles I Think I (Track 3) and Game (Track 4) were also considered for the album's title track. Latin soul urban pop R&B I Think I has a kind of jazzy and sexy ambience that goes well with their mature image. I personally really enjoy the stage performance of this song, too! Though the three tracks have varied styles, SUPER Clap is indeed the one that shows Super Junior's typical aura and specialty the best.

One particular point that I like about this album is that most of the songs are not just about love and clichéd romantic stories. The mid-tempo track Somebody New (Track 5) is about reflecting on oneself and making a new start in life with dream and hope. Opening track The Crown (Track 1) says it all about Super Junior's 14-year journey and how they've become stronger: "On this tough road, the five letters that we have defended until now will go beyond the first and become the best. Go higher and shout to the world! I'm ready for you now!"

Apart from new songs, they also bring their rendition of Show originally performed by Kim Won Jun. Written by Kim Dong Ryul, Show (Track 10) is a dance pop number that gives nostalgic feels and brings back memories of the good old days of K-pop. The hyper remake is a perfect wrap-up song for their Super Show!

Following Super Duper, Lee Teuk collaborates with Team One Sound's Oneway again for side track No Drama (Track 9) and performs the song along with Ye Sung, Eun Hyuk, Ryeo Wook and Kyu Hyun. Though it owns a rhythmical melody, No Drama's lyrics are actually about not wanting to break up. Meanwhile, the youthful and uplifting electropop plug Skydive (Track 6), which is composed by well-known producers FRANTS, Drew Ryan Scott and Sean Michael Alexander, is definitely perfect for a sunny summer day.

Waiting ten years for all the members to complete their military service is a long time, but Super Junior has made it and they're soaring high with their long-awaited album. Time_Slip topped album charts and broke the group's own sales record, and SUPER Clap even brought Super Junior their first #1 on music shows in five years. It's great to see them sticking together after going through all the highs and lows of the past 14 years. This comeback is well worth the wait. Super Junior, the last man standing!

Other Versions of "Super Junior Vol. 9 - Time_Slip (Group Cover)"

  • Region & Language: Hong Kong United States - English
  • *Reference Currency: No Reference Currency
 Change Preferences 
Please enable cookies in your browser to experience all the features of our site, including the ability to make a purchase.